Fish arrived

25 Nile tilapia fingerlings arrived from the Uk after a rough 24 hour journey. 

They were all alive, albeit fairly shaken up and stressed.  The water temperature in the bag that they had arrived in had fallen to 22 degrees C – they were used to 25 to 28 degrees C. 

Unfortunately my tank was at 17 degrees C, I therfore rushed out and picked up a bar water heater (35 euros) and added hot water from my taps directly to the tank. 

Once the temperature was 24 degrees C, I felt comfortable adding the fish to their new environment. 

Upon finding themselves in their new environment, they all ran off and hid behind the water pump. 

I didn’t feel confortable with them hanging out there – seeing as they may have been stressed and tired I didn’t want any of them getting sacked up – so I added the stones below to create a safe place for them to congregate. 

Leave a Reply

