Rigged filter

In response the the fact that the roots of my plants were getting a bit mucky as I discussed in this post, I decided I had to change food and rig a temporary filter system. 

To fit the immediate need i simply added plastic pvc pipe stuffed with a fine grain netting material that I found around the house. 

Not a permanent solution but it worked. Immediately, I found the clarity of the water was improved.. 

I even feel like the roots were clearing up after just 1 day… But that’s probably psychosomatic. 

I remember seeing a Murray Hallam video about filters where he compared media filters with gravity filters… His point being that neither is better it’s more the implementation.  Need to check that out before I make my final filter fix. 

Leave a Reply

